Cumberland County Commissioners

142 Federal Street, Portland, Maine 04101 207-871-8380 • cumberlandcounty.org



PROCLAMATION

National Correctional Officers' Week

May 7 - 13, 2023

WHEREAS, correctional officers are trained law enforcement professionals dedicated to maintaining safe correctional facilities and ensuring the public safety; and

WHEREAS, correctional facilities across the U.S., are run by highly qualified and experienced individuals with a deep understanding of the challenges within the profession; and

WHEREAS, correctional officers and employees are responsible for the custody, care and rehabilitation of thousands of offenders every year, as well as the maintenance of safe and secure facilities; and

WHEREAS, correctional officers and employees are resourceful, capable, committed, patient and persistent professionals in criminal justice; and

WHEREAS, correctional officers and employees serve admirably in many different capacities, including jail administrators, chaplains, nurses, supervisors, social workers, teachers, managers and directors; and

WHEREAS, correctional officers and employees, mentor, counsel and treat offenders; and

WHEREAS, correctional officers and employees provide offenders with direction, while assisting with reentry and life outside corrections; and

WHEREAS, correctional officers and employees rise to meet any challenge and serve this honorable profession nobly and admirably;

WHEREAS, the dedicated men and woman of the Cumberland County Jail have displayed a high level of commitment and dedication to the County and its inmates over the last year, assuming new and greater responsibilities, taking on additional shifts all during a time the pandemic has resulted in decreased staffing levels; and now

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the County Commissioners of the County of Cumberland declares the week of May 7, 2023 to be National Correctional Officers Week in Cumberland County, Maine, in honor of the men and women who deserve recognition for their service and the exceptional performance of their duties under difficult circumstances.

Signed this day of	, 2023	
Susan E. Witonis District Two		Neil D. Jamieson Jr. Chair - District One
Stephen F. Gorden District Three		Patricia Smith District Four
	James F. Cloutier District Five	