## **Cumberland County Commissioners**

142 Federal Street, Portland, Maine 04101 207-871-8380 • cumberlandcounty.org



District One Neil Jamieson • District Two Susan Witonis • District Three Stephen Gorden District Four Patricia Smith • District Five James Cloutier

## Domestic Violence Action Month Proclamation – 2024

**Whereas**, domestic violence remains a pervasive issue across Cumberland County, the United Sates and the world with implications for personal and community health;

**Whereas**, domestic violence affects people of all genders, sexual orientations, ages, racial, ethnic, cultural, social, religious, and economic groups in the United States and here in Cumberland County;

**Whereas,** in 2023, 15,147 people received help from the Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence Resource Centers, and 50% had at least one child in the home;

**Whereas**, in 2023 Through These Doors, Cumberland County's Domestic Violence Resource Center, served 2,958 unduplicated individuals, received 8,192 helpline calls and provided 5,480 bed nights at shelter;

Whereas, there were 10 domestic violence related homicides in Maine in 2023;

**Whereas,** half of all women who were murdered in the US were killed by a current or former partner or family member;

**Whereas**, research shows that a protective factor in preventing domestic violence is creating a community where people are connected, supported and care for each other;

**Whereas**, every day in Cumberland County individuals and organizations support people impacted by domestic violence by providing therapeutic, legal, educational, housing, advocacy, and medical services;

**Whereas,** all of us have a vital role in preventing and one day ending domestic violence; now, therefore, be it

Resolved that the Cumberland County Commissioners hereby proclaim October 2024, as Domestic Violence Action Month in Cumberland County.

| Neil D. Jamieson, Jr., Commissioner | Patricia Smith, Commissioner |
|-------------------------------------|------------------------------|
| Susan Witonis, Commissioner         | Stephen Gorden, Commissioner |
|                                     | Cloutier, Chair              |